g Research Areas | ICDC
Inorganometallic Catalyst Design Center

research areas
research areas publications opportunities

research areas

The Inorganometallic Catalyst Design Center comprises four research areas:

Synthesis of new materials
quantum simulations and predictions

synthesis of new materials

In the synthesis of new materials research area, we make new catalysts.

This involves depositing a metal cluster or metal oxide cluster at a support by either ALD or solution exchange. The new materials then go on to be characterized and tested for catalytic activity. Modeling of the new materials occurs at the same time.

principal investigators:

John Anderson
Omar Farha
Joseph Hupp
Connie Lu
Justin Notestein


In the catalysis research area, we utilize our synthesized materials to perform catalytic reactions.

These catalytic reactions involve the following:

quantum simulations & prediction of novel materials

The quantum simulations are aimed at predicting novel materials to support and guide experimental efforts.

We utilize density functional theory- and wave function-based methods to study synthesis and catalytic reactions and aid in the characterization of the materials. In addition, we invest in new methods development aimed at addressing challenges in catalysis.

principal investigators:

Laura Gagliardi
Rachel Getman
Heather Kulik
Donald G. Truhlar


In the characterization research area, we determine Metal Organic Framework (MOF) structures and their reactivity with various precursors.

The techniques utilized include calorimetric measurements, transmission electron microscopy (TEM), scanning transmission microscopy (STEM), x-ray absorption fine structure spectroscopy (XAFS), powder x-ray diffraction, and solid State NMR, among others.

principal investigators:

Karena Chapman
Omar Farha
Joseph Hupp
Alex Martinson
Justin Notestein
R. Lee Penn

This work was supported as part of the Inorganometallic Catalyst Design Center, an Energy Frontier Research Center funded by the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE), Office of Science, Basic Energy Sciences (BES), under Award DE-SC0012702.

Department of Energy Logo

Contact Information

Department of Chemistry

207 Pleasant Street SE, Minneapolis, MN, 55455

P: 612-301-1491 | E: icdc@umn.edu

For Students, Faculty, and Staff

© 2015 Regents of the University of Minnesota. All rights reserved. The University of Minnesota is an equal opportunity educator and employer. Privacy Statement